Missouri health plans that cover hormonal contraceptives would reimburse longer supplies starting in 2026 and one-year supplies starting in 2027.
Multiple-employer self-insured health plans would hold employer payments in trust, use elected participant trustees, meet bonding and investment rules, and file state reports.
Multiple-employer self-insured health plans would have to keep reserves for losses and maintain a surplus of at least $600,000 or twice a specified risk measure, whichever is greater.
Health plans covering hormonal contraceptives would reimburse supplies lasting up to 90 days in 2026, or up to one year starting in 2027, without higher cost sharing.
Multiple-employer self-insured health plans must hold employer payments in trust and follow stated management and reporting rules. The rules cover plans that are not fully insured and serve employees of at least two employers, or qualifying self-employed people and their dependents. Participating employers elect three to seven participant trustees, with no employer represented by more than one trustee. Trustees must be bonded for at least $150,000 and may be repaid for reasonable expenses but may not receive pay for serving. Plan investments must follow insurance investment limits and be managed by a Missouri-licensed bank or investment entity. Trustees must file required reports with the director of the Department of Commerce and Insurance. The supplied text does not state a separate start or end date for these rules.
A multiple-employer self-insured health plan must keep reserves for incurred losses and unearned premiums and maintain a surplus account. The requirements apply to multiple-employer self-insured health plans covered by the cited provisions. The surplus must equal whichever is greater: $600,000 or twice the authorized control-level risk-based capital amount. Loss reserves must cover both reported and unreported incurred losses. The supplied text does not state a separate start or end date for these requirements.
Health benefit plans that cover self-administered hormonal contraceptives must reimburse providers or dispensing entities for longer supplies. The provision covers self-administered hormonal contraceptives, but not emergency contraception or medicines approved to end an existing pregnancy. For plans issued, continued, or renewed in 2026, coverage must include supplies lasting up to 90 days, or up to 180 days for generic contraceptives. For plans issued, continued, or renewed beginning in 2027, coverage must include supplies lasting up to one year, including generic and brand-name contraceptives. The required coverage may not have a higher deductible or copayment than similar covered services. The 2026 supply rule applies on or after January 1, 2026, and ends after December 31, 2026; the one-year supply rule applies on or after January 1, 2027.
No hearings or votes scheduled.