Teachers, nurses, counselors, and other school staff can receive extra pay when they hold listed certifications and annual funding is provided.
Teachers, school nurses, counselors, and social workers receive an extra 12% of base pay when they hold listed certifications and work in those jobs. Department rules may add positions.
Speech and hearing specialists, therapists, and school psychologists receive an extra 6% of base pay when they meet the listed professional requirements.
National Board-certified teachers and lead mentors do not count their mentor payment toward the 15% limit on salary supplements.
Listed school employees receive an extra salary payment equal to 12% of base pay. The provision covers teachers, school nurses, school counselors, and school social work specialists who hold the specified national certifications and work in those jobs. Teachers must hold National Board certification or an equivalent program approved by the State Board. School nurses, counselors, and social workers must hold the certifications named in the text. The Department may identify other eligible positions through its regulations. Funding for National Board certification supplements is subject to an annual appropriation. The text does not state an effective date; the funding provision refers to annual appropriations.
Listed school specialists receive an extra salary payment equal to 6% of base pay. The provision lists speech pathologists, audiologists, music therapists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, and school psychologists. Each employee must meet the license, examination, or professional certification requirement listed for that position. The Department may identify other eligible positions through its regulations. Funding for National Board certification supplements is subject to an annual appropriation. The text does not state an effective date; the funding provision refers to annual appropriations.
A mentor payment for qualifying service is not counted toward the 15% limit on salary supplements. The rule covers employees with National Board certification who serve as teachers or lead mentors. The payment must be for service as a teacher or lead mentor. The employee must have certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. The text does not state when this treatment begins or ends.
No hearings or votes scheduled.