Military license applicants could register without recent work experience, mental health supervisors would review live video supervision, and optometry fee minimums would fall.
Military servicemembers and their spouses with comparable out-of-state licenses could register in California without showing recent work experience, if they meet document and conduct requirements.
Marriage and family therapy supervisors would assess live video supervision only when they use it, and they would have to stop using it if the assessment finds it unsuitable.
Nonresident ophthalmic lens dispensers would face lower minimum California registration and two-year renewal fees, although the board could set higher amounts within new limits.
Licensing boards and the Department of Real Estate must register eligible military servicemembers and their spouses without charging a registration fee. This covers people with an active, similar professional license from another U.S. state, district, or territory who move to California because of military orders, including qualifying spouses. Applicants must provide the required license records, military orders, California address, and other documents. Applicants must attest that they meet the requirements, provided accurate information, and will follow the registering authority’s standards and scope of practice. The registration lasts only while the military orders remain in effect, and the registering authority may suspend or revoke it for violations. The authority must register a complete application within 30 days; the supplied text does not state when this provision takes effect.
Mental health supervisors must assess whether live video supervision is appropriate when they use it. This applies to supervision for marriage and family therapist trainees and associates, including supervision held in person, by live video, or through both methods. The supervisor must consider the supervisee’s abilities, both people’s preferences, and the privacy of their locations. The supervisor must document the assessment and stop using live video if it is found inappropriate. The assessment must occur within 60 days after live video supervision begins; the supplied text does not state when this provision takes effect.
The State Board of Optometry must set the minimum registration fee at $350 and the minimum two-year renewal fee at $200 for nonresident ophthalmic lens dispensers. This applies to nonresident ophthalmic lens dispensers registered under the Optometry Practice Act. The registration fee may be set between $350 and $600. The two-year renewal fee may be set between $200 and $400. The board may revise these fees by regulation, but they may not exceed reasonable regulatory costs. The supplied text does not state when the new fee minimums take effect.
No hearings or votes scheduled.